

Bayreuth International Graduate School of African Studies - GSC 144





DAAD Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst

Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG

Call for Applications

The Bayreuth International Graduate School of African Studies (BIGSAS), funded since 2007 by the German Research Foundation of the Excellence Initiative of the German Federal and State Governments, will admit PhD students to its doctoral programme beginning 1 April 2014.

The Bayreuth International Graduate School of African Studies at Bayreuth University, Germany, brings together outstanding young African and non-African scholars to work jointly in the field of African Studies. It offers a centre of creative and innovative PhD training based on a multi- and cross-disciplinary research environment.

BIGSAS invites applications from candidates whose dissertation project fits into one of the Graduate School's current Research Areas. For information concerning the Research Areas, please visit the website: www.bigsas.uni-bayreuth.de

Applicants must have a very good Master's Degree in one of the disciplines represented at the Graduate School, Applications may be sent in German, English or French, the working language of BIGSAS is English.

The Graduate School has been awarded two scholarships within the Graduate School Scholarship Programme (GSSP) by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) for which BIGSAS will nominate candidates who have successfully passed the application procedure.

For more information about further funding opportunities and your online application please refer to:

www.bigsas.uni-bayreuth.de/en/phd programme/application/index.html

Deadline: 1 October 2013

Applications from the African continent will be pre-selected by the six Partner Universities after the initial formal screening at the University of Bayreuth. The interviews of candidates from Africa will take place at the following Partner Universities of BIGSAS:

Université d'Abomey-Calavi, Cotonou, Benin Université Mohammed V-Agdal, Rabat, Morocco Moi University, Eldoret, Kenya Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, Maputo, Mozambique Addis Ababa University, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa











